10.) and 11.) “Changes in latitude, changes in attitude.”

Oh, Change. What a love/hate relationship we have. There are changes occurring in my life (kinda all at once-ish), and not many of them are under my control. I’ve been kind of worried about some of them, but there is also something kind of refreshing about surrendering your will to the beginning of a new chapter.

And moving in particular…it’s such a bizarre feeling. I moved like every four months for all 4 years of college. Then I moved to Austin and lived in one place for 11 months, and then I moved again. I’ve been where I am now for 3 years….that’s the most I’ve lived in a single household since I was growing up with my parents.

I know moving has a reputation of being a pain (packing/can be expensive/getting your mail address changed/etc.) but in some bizarre ways I kind of like it. I am a restless soul, and it was incredibly out of character for me to be settled in one apt for so long. Not that I’m not a nester…I love the act of making a place feel homey and like it’s “my territory” – setting up my creative corner, my workout area, my meditation nooks – but maybe I’m more of a serial nester. And I love the feeling of newness. Growing up (and even now) I love traveling and staying in hotels: unpacking my things and putting them in their little places and then going out to explore my neighborhood-for-the-weekend to see what cool rocks I can turn over.

On an additional note, J came over and daaaaang that girl is a packing machine! Together she and I (more she, really) packed up all of my clothes, all of my books, most of my cooking things. She and I packed more tonight than I’ve done in the past weekend! Also, my friend A is going to be crashing with me for a couple of days. It will be nice to spend time with him before he moves, plus it will kind of “break me in” for having a roommate again (something I haven’t had in over four years).

10.) Here’s to nomadic sensations….to embracing moving to new places, commencing new eras, and meeting new people (all while staying in touch with the old good ones ;-)).

11.) Here’s to treasuring good times with good friends, and packing parties at 11:30 p.m.

Here’s some of my life-in-boxes, ready to set up shop in a new crib (p.s….who’s that hottie on the TV!?!? my seeestor!!!!)

And here’s a little Jimmy Buffett, with some select lyrics.

“Yesterday’s over my shoulder, so I can’t look back for too long. There’s just too much to see waiting in front of me and I know that I just can’t go wrong.”

Leave a Reply

