24.) Surviving

24.) Surviving. A little bit at a time. – This semester has been crazy. Well, whom do I think I am kidding? Every semester of grad school has been crazy! But this is like, really crazy. School isn’t terrible, and clinic hasn’t been terrible, but I’ve been bad at managing my time. I spoke with my Mom yesterday and she asked me how things have been. I told her that I’ve totally overextended myself. I’m completely overcommitted, too many leadership positions, too many responsibilities, but the problem is that the things I’m committed to I enjoy SO much, and I can’t give them up. She took no pity on me and said merely, “Colleen, I have only two things to say to you: N. O. Learn to say NO.”

I know she is right. I know I need to start giving up some of the things I love for the things I have to do until I graduate, but like I said, it’s doing the things that I love that keep me motivated to keep going. It’s a cycle.

Anyway, today is the last day of September. And it is also Friday. This means I not only have survived another week (big accomplishment in my book!) but I’ve also survived the MONTH. Tis right….first month of 4th of 5 semester of grad school will be behind me in a few hours. 🙂

And so, little by little, minute by minute, I’m surviving this semester. Ups and downs and rounds and rounds, and heartache and happiness, and stress above all stresses. True, maybe I have barely slept every night for the past 3 weeks. But there ain’t no rest for the wicked, right?

Leave a Reply

